Linguistic Dysfunction

If you feel that your question or comment doesn't fit into the categories above, feel free to post it here.

Linguistic Dysfunction

Post by minjeff » Fri Nov 18, 2005 6:28 pm

I'm a college student and have learned and continue to learn four languages, which to many on this site is not impressive, however I've excelled in all four (English, Spanish, German, and French) and am proud of my achievements. At times though, I simply cannot switch my mode of thought from one linguistic style to another. For example, sometimes I apply Spanish or German grammer to English. Like in Spanish one can place long subjects at the end of a statement or German a conjugated modal verb goes to the end of a complex sentences subordinating clause. Also, sometimes I simply can't access the "files" of a certain language.

Does any one else experience similar phenomena?
ACCESS_POST_ACTIONS
Signature: Letters go together to make words; words go together to make phrases, and phrases sentences, but only in certain combinations. In others they're just non-sense.

Linguistic Dysfunction

Post by Erik_Kowal » Fri Nov 18, 2005 9:06 pm

What you are referring to is known as 'linguistic interference', and is usually most apparent in the interference of one secondary language (i.e. one that is not one's mother tongue) with another, especially if those languages are fairly similar. For instance, native English speakers who also know French frequently experience linguistic interference from French when they start to learn Spanish (which belongs to the same family of languages as French).

It is more unusual for secondary languages to influence one's mother tongue in this way unless one has been living for some time in a country where one's mother tongue is not habitually spoken.
ACCESS_POST_ACTIONS