Word Relationships

If you feel that your question or comment doesn't fit into the categories above, feel free to post it here.

Word Relationships

Post by blu10 » Mon Sep 19, 2005 12:13 am

Can someone help me out? I'm looking for a relationship word for the bottom set of words. It is probably very obvious, but I am not seeing it. This is my first time visiting and posting on this site. I hope I am using it correctly.

house;bath;watching;brain The answer is: bird (bird house, bird bath, bird watching & bird brain)

milk;dog;out;down What is the relationship word?

Thanks for any help you can give.

--blu10
ACCESS_POST_ACTIONS

Word Relationships

Post by dalehileman » Mon Sep 19, 2005 4:45 pm

Put the milk out
Put the dog out
The dog will down the milk
Put the dog down

Just kidding. But I just wanted you know somebody cares
ACCESS_POST_ACTIONS

Word Relationships

Post by Ken Greenwald » Mon Sep 19, 2005 5:59 pm

Blu, This is kind of lame, but I suppose it might be better than a kick in the teeth – maybe!:

WHITE MILK – as opposed to chocolate milk, and this one is fairly common.

WHITE DOG – doesn’t mean much in particular to me, but does produce ~ 763,000 Google hits, 94,000 of which are associated with ‘white dog’ cafes, so it must have some significance to some folks

WHITE OUT– a cold weather condition

WHITEOUT– a correction fluid for printed matter

WHITE DOWN – of geese, chicks, etc, and the goose down used in pillows, comforters, etc. – produced ~ 136,000 Google hits versus ~ 35,000 for ‘gray/grey down.’

Ken G – September 19, 2005
ACCESS_POST_ACTIONS

Word Relationships

Post by mike2005 » Mon Sep 19, 2005 7:20 pm

How about HOUSE

Milk House
Dog House
Out House
Down House - as in downstairs

WEBSTERS Third New International Dictionary
Mike
ACCESS_POST_ACTIONS

Word Relationships

Post by Ken Greenwald » Mon Sep 19, 2005 7:48 pm