Master's Thesis/Questionnaire

If you feel that your question or comment doesn't fit into the categories above, feel free to post it here.

Post by Miia » Thu Jun 23, 2005 10:27 am

Dear all,

I'm a Finnish student of translation and interpretation, and I'm currently doing my master's thesis, which deals with taboo expressions and their strength. As a part of my thesis, I'm conducting a questionnaire that includes scenes taken from a Finnish historical novel Under the North Star by Väinö Linna (translated by Richard Impola). I would really appreciate, if the readers of this forum could answer to the questionnaire. The only requirement is that the participants are native American or Canadian English speakers. The questionnaire is published here:

http://cc.joensuu.fi/~mmattila/questionnaire.htm

Thank you in advance!
ACCESS_POST_ACTIONS

Post by dalehileman » Thu Jun 23, 2005 4:36 pm

Good luck to you tho I predict you won't get many responses because what you're asking is a form of work
ACCESS_POST_ACTIONS

Post by spiritus » Thu Jun 23, 2005 7:56 pm

Miia,

Having been moved to mild guilt by Dale's slander: I filled out your questionaire. Exhausted by this labor; I think I'll have a nap now.
ACCESS_POST_ACTIONS
Signature: Che Baraka

Post by JANE DOErell » Fri Jun 24, 2005 2:34 pm

I went over and looked at the first three or so and saw nothing taboo about any of them in the rural Western US today so I was a bit confused as to what you wanted. If you wanted rural Western US today than you need another ranking, perhaps a -1 meaning, "So?".
ACCESS_POST_ACTIONS

Post by dalehileman » Fri Jun 24, 2005 4:50 pm

Jane: I suspect Miia knows what she's doing. Often revealing the purpose of a survey would destroy its usefulness
ACCESS_POST_ACTIONS

Post by Nahani » Fri Jun 24, 2005 7:23 pm

Apes, asses, pigs, and other animals might view this as "racist," but other than that, there's nothing here that a four-year-old would have trouble comprehending.